Alcohol

What does tapering off alcohol mean ?
I drink 1 bottle of wine 4-5 times a week. How should I taper off ?

4 Likes

That’s interesting

1 Like

Tapering off alcoholic beverages have drawbacks.

1 Like

Drawbacks vary depending on the individual

2 Likes
  1. become informed I.e. Alcohol Withdrawal - StatPearls - NCBI Bookshelf

2. involve a professional.

3( goto AA meetings and listen and perhaps share your dilemma. But remember; there is no “one size fits all” solution…so don’t skip these other steps.

1. don’t stop advocating for yourself! It’s your life !!
5 Likes

I'm not a doctor but I am an alcoholic and I never had ANY luck "tapering" off. depending on how much you drink alcohol withdrawal can be deadly for some which is why a detox program is probably the best idea.

2 Likes

However I was definitely drinking a lot more than what you say. But... it wasn't always that way for me, itz a progressive disease and I was once drinking the amount you say you are. It might be best to just give it up

1 Like

Thank you , I’m on day 2 no wine… I’m not feeling any withdrawals yet they come in day 3 I get a headache and that’s when I usually give in. I have a doctors appointment coming soon. Thank you

4 Likes

Took me twelve years and finally almost dying and going to the ER to successfully “taper.” Basically, what I’m saying is you can’t do it.

1 Like

No such thing for me.

1 Like

I’ve heard some people have success this way. It did not work for me.

I have a disease called addiction. And I can’t taper off addiction anymore than a cancer patient could taper off cancer. The word taper, to me, implies willpower. And I’m powerless.

For me I had to treat my addiction. I do that with a 12 step program. Every day. And it has done for me what I could not do alone.

3 Likes