Reaching out

I’m struggling with reaching out to anyone. I’ve kept up this mask of being strong for everyone else, including my own life problems. It hasn’t happened yet, but I know that my life will become unmanageable if I don’t take action now. I don’t think I can handle the look of disappointment I will get from my family, because once again this has happened. After 4 1/2 years in recovery, I threw it all away. I’ve been hiding it for almost 6 months now. I just want to stop.

14 Likes

It is the hardest thing to ask for help. But your life is worth it. You didn’t throw it all away, because you’re here today. Do you have local in person support as well? Please feel free to add me and I’d be happy to message you. hugs

5 Likes

Your disappointment with yourself can be your new starting point. Focus on yourself and not to the others! Love yourself before looking for love from others, including your family. Once you learn how to love and respect yourself, live from other will come naturally.
Keep working, stay on track, focus, and everything will be fine!

2 Likes

Hugs n prayers.talking about it takes away it's power over us.
It also gives others the chance to step in n hold us up when we feel we're not worth it. I proud of you for just speaking up. That took a great deal of courage.
Now get over it. Get to work n deal with the wreckage when it's time.

3 Likes